Tags

, , , ,

Next Sunday I will run the Houston half marathon for the second time!  The first time I ran it was back in 2009.  A lot has happened in the past 6 years.  I had my second baby, we moved, I lost 30 pounds and ran my first marathon.  The years have flown by, but many of the days have been long.  When I trained for the marathon last year I was super dedicated, and even though I didn’t get the time I wanted – I finished.  And at the end of that day that’s all that mattered to me.  LOL!

I have run a couple of race between last year’s marathon and this year’s half, but nothing too crazy.  My good friend got into the marathon this year (it’s a lottery) so I said I would train with her since she trained with me last year and it was a HUGE help!   This year my goal for the half marathon was to break 2 hours.  Unfortunately I haven’t been as disciplined this year, but I have definitely worked on my speed.  I don’t think I will hit my 2 hour PR, but I think I can get close so that’s what I’m aiming for.

Running on the treadmill.  Not my favorite thing to do, but it's too cold outside for this Texas gal. :)

Running on the treadmill. Not my favorite thing to do, but it’s too cold outside for this Texas gal. 🙂

4 miles in 39 minutes.  That is a new PR for me!

4 miles in 39 minutes. That is a new PR for me!

I have to say I’m pretty excited about the race.  I love the distance of a half marathon.  It definitely challenges you, but you don’t want to die at the end.  My legs hurt so bad after the marathon I wasn’t sure I could walk.  Don’t get me wrong, running a marathon is one of the greatest accomplishments of my life, but damn 26.2 is freakin’ far!  Never say never, but half marathons are the perfect distance for me.

This last week of training will include two 5 mile runs with my training buddies, 1 speed workout, and two cross-training days.  I ran my last long run this morning – 8 miles, and I felt great.  Ready to race!

Breakfast of champions after my 8 mile run.  I need to improve my food pictures.  LOL!

Breakfast of champions after my 8 mile run. I need to take better food pics. LOL!

Happy Saturday!

