Tags

, , ,

I made my early run yesterday at 5am. Wake up call was 4:40am! We had a great 6 mile run. We all felt strong and ready physically for the upcoming races. Mentally we all are a little nervous. This is Rachel’s first marathon and Melissa’s first half marathon, and my goal is finish the half marathon in 2 hours 10 minutes or even better in 2 hours!

After the early morning run yesterday I had a full day of work, driving all over the city, kid pick-up, homework, dinner and showers.  Once I sat down on the couch last night I could barely keep my eyes open, and I was too tired to type so a blog post just did not happen.  😦

My very large cup of joe after my early morning run.  I should really think about putting some make up on for pics.  Yikes!

My very large cup of joe after my early morning run. I should really think about putting some make up on for pics. Yikes!

Fast forward to this morning.  I went to the body pump class, and it was another awesome workout.  My arms and legs are still burning.  LOVE IT!!!!

I had a bunch of errands to run today, but I still have to keep my eats healthy so I can stay on plan to lose the extra holiday weight.  Between days like yesterday when I had to drive all over the city for work, and days like today where I had to run a bunch of errands I have to keep healthy snack options with me.  I have to eat or I tend to get a little HANGRY (hunger and angry) not a good combination!  When I started eating Paleoish I found that I really like almonds.  I get the unsalted, natural almonds and I love them.  Some people can’t deal with the no salt part (my husband) but I have grown to love them and they are my go to snack.

Natural almonds are the bomb!

Natural almonds are the bomb!

I keep a jar in my car pretty much all the time.  I have to watch myself because I know the calories can add up, but they really are a great snack when you’re on the go.  The other thing I often do is take my breakfast with me when I’m dropping off the kids.  I always make a gluten free waffle (not Paleo, I’m more Paleoish) and egg whites to go.  I make the eggs in the microwave and stick them in a snack bag to eat while I’m driving, and I always make sure I have extra napkins. 🙂

WARNING!!!!

This is not the prettiest picture, but it’s egg whites to go.  LOL!

Egg whites to go.  Not pretty, but healthy and tasty.  :)

Egg whites to go. Not pretty, but healthy and tasty. 🙂

Another thing I do is always look for the healthy food options at fast food restaurants. Just about all fast food places have a grilled chicken sandwich.  If I have to go to a fast food place I usually order a grilled chicken sandwich and don’t eat the bun and add a salad.

Today I went to Panera, because it was on the way to another appointment.  I ordered their Chicken Cobb with Avocado without the cheese and dressing on the side.  Any time I order a salad I try to get the dressing on the side to minimize calories.  I find if they toss in the dress it’s way too much.

Yum!

Yum!

What are your healthy eats on the go?  I’m always looking for new ideas/tips.

Happy Thursday!

