Tags

, ,

One word for yesterday’s ran – AWESOME!!!!  🙂  I was up bright and early on Sunday morning,  I had a few cups of coffee and a gluten free waffle with almond butter.  It’s my long run, pre-race meal.   My hubby was so sweet to haul me and my friends down to the race so we didn’t have to worry about parking.  He wasn’t too thrilled to wake up on Sunday morning at 5:30 am, but he was as trooper. 🙂  We were on the road by 6 am.

We got to the race about 6:35 am and quickly made it to our corral.  We were all in different ones, but wanted to start together so we snuck our way into one corral together.

We were all excited and nervous, but ready to get our race on!

We were all excited and nervous, but ready to get our race on!

The gun went off at 7 am, but we didn’t actually cross the start line until 7:20.

Look at all these runners!

Look at all these runners!

Melissa and I hit the first port-o-potty we saw because the line was too long before the start of the race. We started nice and slow to ease our way into it.  It’s so easy to start sprinting because of the excitement, but I did that last year and it was not good at the end.  Gotta save your legs and energy.  The three of us ran together until mile 4 like we had planned.  Once we hit mile 4 I said good-bye to the girls and started slowly increasing my pace.  There we so many people cheering us on it was incredible!  I wish I would have gotten a pic of the crowds along the route.

I tried to pick points on the route to sprint towards during my intervals – a stop light, a stop sign, tree, etc.  Probably not the most technical method of interval training, but hey I was just enjoying the scenery and being in the race.  It’s hard to describe the feeling when you are part of a race… one word – incredible. 🙂

I saw some friends at mile 7 and it was a big jolt to my energy level.  It was so sweet of all of our friends to come out to support us!  I guess I was in my zone a little too much because I missed two of my friends along the way.

After I saw my friend at mile 7 I looked at my phone and noticed my husband texted me to get a move on because my pace was too slow to hit my goal.  He’s always looking out for me. 🙂

My map my run app got screwed up somehow along the way so I started looking at the marathon timers to try and figure out where I would end up.  My husband texted me at mile 11 and told me I was on pace to finish in 2:17.  My first goal was 2 hours, second goal was 2:10 and my last option was 2:15.  I wasn’t going to stand to finish more than that so I started booking it.  My legs were burning and I started feeling a little nauseous so I just tried to push through.  I switched up my music and went through every inspirational song I had.  I saw my family (husband, kids and my mom) about .25 from the finish line and I just put it into gear.  BOOM!  2:13!!!

Damn, I was so proud I could barely contain myself.

Me and my awesome kiddos that love it when I run!

Me and my awesome kiddos that love it when I run!

Melissa finished in 2:31 – amazing!!! She was running for autism research and raised a lot of money for the foundation.  A M A Z I N G!!!!

We hung out with our families for a few minutes and then got into the truck to meet Rachel at mile 20.  We got there with about 15 minutes to spare.  The kids were so cute with their signs for Rachel.

Go Rachel!

Go Rachel!

We love you Rachel!

We love you Rachel!

Rachel stretched for a few minutes and then we were off.  Rachel’s sister had been running with her since mile 14 and planned to run to 21.  Melissa planned on running with her for a mile and my plan was to run a few miles with her.  At mile 21.5 Rachel’s brother and family met us.  We stretched again and then her and I headed out.  So many supporters cheering her, us on.  It was amazing.  One lady thought I was confused because I still had my half marathon bib on.  LOL!  At mile 23.5 my right knee started to really hurt.  We would walk and run, walk and run.  Finally at mile 24.5 I didn’t want to slow Rachel down or mess with her rhythm so I stopped.  She was so sweet and offered to wait for me.  I told her this was HER RACE and she needed to cross the finish line by herself.  It’s an amazing feeling!  And she did, 5 hours and 13  minutes!!!   So proud of my amazing friends.  They trained hard, ran hard and finished hard.

Post race celebration!  So so proud of these ladies.  Amazing race and day!

Post race celebration! 

I hope we start training for another race soon!  Sore legs today, but so worth it!

🙂

Missy

