Tags

, , , ,

So moving on from my half marathon hangover this week I made it to my body pump class yesterday.  Great workout!  I started thinking about the benefits of weight training and running.  As I have said before now that the half marathon is done I’m going to focus more on strength and yoga.  I remember hearing that strength training is beneficial for runners, but I can’t remember where I read it and started doing some research yesterday.

I didn’t find any great articles, but what I did find surprised me.  Turns out that yoga is very beneficial to runners.  I have found several articles on the subject. The one I like the most is this one from Women’s Health Magazine and it gives you a sample workout.  Check it out!

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/fitness/yoga-everyday-routine

I definitely want to continue with strength, but I’m going to try these stretches every morning or at least 3 times a week to help with flexibility.

Yesterday I used my Christmas present from the hubby for a relaxing, much needed massage. I love gift certificates!  It was an hour long, deep tissue massage….my favorite! Can’t wait to go back for my facial.

I love gift certificates!

I love gift certificates!  And I can’t figure out how to rotate the pic. 😦

IMG_4283

This pic is a little blurry, but it reminds me that bathing suit season is just around the corner and I need to focus on my goals.  More on that this week.  I’m starting a new program next week that will help me reach my Spring Break goals. 🙂 Yay!

IMG_4284

I saw this sign at the gym. Love it!  TGIF and time for a glass of wine!

